Ideas for Japanese students who want to travel,
study, work, or volunteer overseas.

Published by SEIBIDO (2003)

INTRODUCTION CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION

My main purpose in writing this book was to give Japanese students some ideas for traveling overseas. I do not just mean going on trips but doing something more meaningful such as studying, working or volunteering in other countries.

Many of the ideas in this book involve living abroad for extended periods of time as I believe that this kind of experience will allow you not only to improve your language skills, but also to develop greater confidence, maturity and flexibility. All of these are important when it comes to getting a job, something that is becoming increasingly difficult nowadays. In addition, living in a foreign country will give you the opportunity to meet and make friends with people from various countries and cultures.

Throughout the book, you will find brief true-life stories of various Japanese people's experiences in foreign countries: what they did and how it benefited them.

Obviously, if you are to make the most of your time abroad, you will need to boost your English ability, and so this book has been designed to challenge you and to stretch your capabilities. The vocabulary, texts and exercises have all been carefully written and selected so that they achieve the goals both of developing your comprehension of English and supplying you with useful information for your own adventures.

Many of the units include authentic English materials and questions that are similar to those you might find in the main international tests of English: TOEIC (Test of English for International Communication), TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language), and IELTS (International English Language Testing System).

Also, at the end of each unit, you will find the addresses of Internet websites from which you can obtain up-to-date or additional information.

I very much hope that reading and studying this book will give you the skills, motivation and inspiration to go out into the world, to try something new and to do something that will give you a sense of achievement.

Happy traveling!

Back to top

CONTENTS

&

LINKS

@

1. Package Tours

2. Independent Travel

3. Trans-Siberian Express

4. Music Festivals

5. Youth Hostels

6. YMCA of the Rockies

7. Active Vacations

8. Study English Abroad

9. Homestay

10. Exchange Student

11. Peace Boat

12. Working Holiday Visa

13. Au Pair

14. Internship

15. Teaching Japanese Language and Culture

16. Welfare Work

17. National Trust Conservation Volunteers

18. EarthWatch

19. Tree Planting

20. Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers

Back to top

Unit 1: Package Tours

Japanese Ministry of Justice (–@–±Θ): http://www.moj.go.jp/

Japan Association of Travel Agents (“ϊ–{—·s‹Ζ‹¦‰ο): http://www.jata-net.or.jp/

Japan National Tourist Organization (‘ΫŠΟŒυU‹»‰ο): http://www.jnto.go.jp/

UK Office of National Statistics: http://www.statistics.gov.uk/

US Office of Travel and Tourism Industries: http://tinet.ita.doc.gov/

Top Contents


Unit 2: Independent Travel

Japan National Tourist Organization (‘ΫŠΟŒυU‹»‰ο): http://www.jnto.go.jp/

Top Contents


Unit 3: Trans-Siberian Express

Intourist USA: http://www.intourist-usa.com/

Trans-Siberian Express: http://www.intourist-usa.com/sibir.htm

The Russia Experience: http://www.trans-siberian.co.uk/

Trans-Siberian Express: http://www.trans-siberian.co.uk/transsib.html

The Russian National Tourist Office: http://www.russia-travel.com/

Trans-Siberia Dot Com: http://www.trans-siberia.com/

Top Contents


Unit 4: Music Festivals

Glastonbury Festival: http://www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk/

Reading Festival: http://www.readingfestival.co.uk/

Top Contents


Unit 5: Youth Hostels

International Youth Hostel Federation: http://www.iyhf.org/

Japan: http://www.jyh.or.jp/

America: http://www.hiayh.org/

Canada: http://www.hihostels.ca/

England and Wales: http://www.yha.org.uk/

Australia: http://www.yha.org.au/

New Zealand: http://www.stayyha.com/

Top Contents


Unit 6: YMCA of the Rockies

YMCA of the Rockies: http://www.ymcarockies.org/

The town of Estes Park: http://www.estes-park.com/

Rapid Transit Rafting: http://www.rapidtransitrafting.com/

Colorado Guide: http://www.coloradoguide.com/

Rocky Mountain National Park: http://www.nps.gov/romo/

Rocky Mountain Guide: http://www.rocky.mountain.national-park.com/

YMCA World Service: http://www.ymcaworldservice.org/

USA YMCA: http://www.ymca.net/

Japan YMCA Organization: http://www.ymcajapan.org/

Top Contents


Unit 7: Active Vacations

General:

Action Trips: http://www.actiontrips.com/

Africa Guide: http://www.africaguide.com/overland.htm

GORP Travel: http://gorptravel.gorp.com/acttrav_search_main.asp

PADI: http://www.padi.com/

Wilderness Web: http://www.wildernessweb.com/

Companies in the text:

African Routes: http://www.africanroutes.co.za/

Anjou Bike Center: http://www.anjou-bike-center.com/

Aussie Adventure: http://www.aussieadventure.com.au/

Canyon Trail Rides: http://www.onlinepages.net/canyonrides/

Cape York Motorcycle Adventures: http://www.capeyorkmotorcycles.com.au/main.html

Snowdonia Adventures: http://www.snowdonia-adventures.co.uk/snowdonia-rock-climbing.html/

Spirit of the West: http://www.kayak-adventures.com/

Western Spirit: http://www.westernspirit.com/

Top Contents


Unit 8: Study English Abroad

Davefs ESL Cafe: http://www.eslcafe.com/search/Schools/

Global Study: http://www.globalstudy.com/

International Study and Education Services (ISES): http://www.istudy.com/japanese/schoolsearch.htm

Study Abroad: http://english.studyabroad.com/

Study in Australia (ELICOS): http://www.elicos.edu.au/

British Council: http://www.englishinbritain.co.uk/

GoUK: http://www.gouk.com/elt/index.html

Study in the USA: http://www.studyusa.com/

The American Association of Intensive English Programs: http://www.aaiep.org/programs/map.html

Top Contents


Unit 9: Homestay

Cultural Homestay International (CHI): http://www.chinet.org/

Study Abroad Links: http://studyabroadlinks.com/homestay.shtml

Davefs ESL Cafe Homestay Links: links: http://www.eslcafe.com/search/Homestay/

GoUK homestay advice: http://www.gouk.com/studentcentre/uklife/homestay.htm

Top Contents


Unit 10: Exchange Student

Kenji Kitao's information on studying abroad: http://ilc2.doshisha.ac.jp/users/kkitao/japanese/library/resource/abroad/

Council on International Educational Exchange: http://www.cieej.or.jp/

Yahoo! Links to sites about estudy abroadf: http://dir.yahoo.co.jp/education/programs/study_abroad/

Ryuugaku Journal (—―ŠwƒWƒƒ[ƒiƒ‹): http://www.ryugaku.co.jp/

Ryuugaku Times (—―Šwƒ^ƒCƒ€ƒY): http://www.ryugaku.net/

Ryuugaku Links (—―Šw ‚k‚‰‚Ž‚‹‚“): http://www.studyabroadlinks.com/japanese.htm

Ryuugaku Net (—―Šwƒlƒbƒg): http://www.ryugakunet.com/

Top Contents


Unit 11: Peace Boat

PEACE BOAT: http://www.peaceboat.org/

CIA World Factbook: http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI): http://www.sipri.org/

United Nations Peace and Security: http://www.un.org/peace/

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO): http://www.unesco.org/

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR): http://www.unhcr.ch/

United States Institute of Peace: http://www.usip.org/

United Nations Peacekeeping Q & A: http://www.un.org/Depts/dpko/dpko/ques.htm

USA State Department: Bureau of Arms Control: http://www.state.gov/t/ac/

Top Contents


Unit 12: Working Holiday Visa

Japan Association for Working Holiday Makers: http://www.jawhm.or.jp/

Australia Web (embassy information): http://www.australia.or.jp/

Australia Immigration Service: http://hwmigration.com/workhol.htm

Australia working holiday visa application form (Adobe file): http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/pdf/1150.pdf

Harvest guide for Australia: http://www.anyworkanywhere.com/harvestaustralia.html

Canadian Embassy in Japan: http://www.canadanet.or.jp/

Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Japan on working holidays: http://www.cccj.or.jp/jwhp.htm

Canada working holiday visa application form (Adobe file): http://www.cccj.or.jp/images/JWHPapp2.pdf

New Zealand Embassy in Japan: http://www.nzembassy.com/japan/

New Zealand Immigration Service: http://www.immigration.govt.nz/work/whs/home.html

New Zealand working holiday visa application form (Adobe file): http://www.immigration.govt.nz/forms/pdf/nzis1085.pdf

Seasonal work in New Zealand (agency): http://www.seasonalwork.co.nz/

UK Now (embassy information): http://www.uknow.or.jp/

UK visa information: http://www.ukvisas.gov.uk/

French Embassy in Japan: http://www.ambafrance-jp.org/

German Embassy in Japan: http://www.germanembassy-japan.org/

Korean Working Holiday Organization: http://www.workingholiday.or.kr/

Top Contents


Unit 13: Au Pair

Work Abroad as an Au Pair (Mary A. Schumacher): http://www.careerframes.com/articles/aupair.htm

Au Pair in America: http://www.aifs.com/aupair_intl/

Great Au Pair: http://www.greataupair.com/aupair_info.cfm
Great Au Pair family search page: http://www.greataupair.com/fastfind.cfm/search/Family/searchtype/Advanced

Family Match Au Pair & Nanny Service (Australia): http://www.familymatch.com.au/

USA J-1 Visitor Exchange Visa official information: http://www.travel.state.gov/visa;exchange.html

Top Contents


Unit 14: Internship

CEC Japan (internships and volunteering): http://www.cecj.net/

Council Exchanges Japan: http://www.cieej.or.jp/

International Internship Programs: http://www.internship.or.jp/

Vulcanus Project (in Europe): http://www.eujapan.com/europe/vulc1.html

Worldwide Academic Corporation: http://www.wac-japan.com/

Top Contents


Unit 15: Teaching Japanese Language and Culture

Japan Foundation (‘ΫŒπ—¬Šξ‹ΰ): http://www.jpf.go.jp/

Japan Ministry of Foreign Affairs (ŠO–±Θ): http://www.mofa.go.jp/

Japan Festival Education Trust UK (JFET): http://www.jfet.org.uk/

Japan in Your Classroom (JIYC): http://www.jfet.org.uk/JIYC/newvol.html

The Marist School, New Zealand: http://www.marist.school.nz/japan.html

CECJ Assistant Japanese Teacher Program: http://www.cecj.net/programe/ajt/top.htm

International Internship Programs: http://www.internship.or.jp/

Volunteers International Programmes: http://www.volunteer.or.jp

Top Contents


Unit 16: Welfare Work

Community Service Volunteers (UK): http://www.csv.org.uk/

HelpAge International: http://www.helpage.org/

Live-in Caregiver Program in Canada: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/work/caregiver-2.html

United Nations Population Division:@http://www.un.org/esa/population/unpop.htm

Volunteer Match (USA): http://www.volunteermatch.org/

CEC Japan (internships and volunteering): http://www.cecj.net/

Volunteers International Programs: http://www.volunteer.or.jp/

Top Contents


Unit 17: National Trust Conservation Volunteers

National Trust main site: http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/

National Trust Volunteers: http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/volunteering/

National Trust Volunteers Working Holidays brochure:@http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/volunteering/workinghols.html/

Japanese Economic Planning Agency White Paper on the National Lifestyle (2000) (ŒoΟŠι‰ζ’‘: ‘–―ΆŠˆ”’‘: ƒ{ƒ‰ƒ“ƒeƒBƒA‚ͺ[‚ί‚ιD‰ (•½¬‚P‚Q”N):
English: http://www5.cao.go.jp/2000/c/1110wp-seikatsu-e/main.html
Japanese: http://www5.cao.go.jp/j-j/wp-pl/wp-pl00/hakusho-00-index.html

Top Contents


Unit 18: EarthWatch

EarthWatch website: http://www.earthwatch.org/

Top Contents


Unit 19: Tree Planting

UNEP Desertification: http://www.agrifood-forum.net/issues/desert.asp

UNEP report: Introduction to desertification: http://www.na.unep.net/des/uncedintro.php3

UNEP report: Global Environment Outlook 2000: http://www.unep.org/geo2000/english/index.htm

United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification: http://www.unccd.int/main.php

UNCCD China national report: http://www.unccd.int/php/countryinfo.php?country=CHN

All-China Youth Federation: http://www.acyf.org/chinayouth/e_info/200104/18.htm

Green Earth Volunteers (China): http://www.virtualfoundation.org/support/consortium/greenearth.html

The Japan Association for Greening Deserts: http://www.sabakuryokuka.org/

Desert Planting Volunteer Association: http://www.kurikoma.or.jp/~imamuraa/kinokai/sabaku/houkoku.html

Yellow River Friendship Woods Joint Project (Yamaguchi Prefecture): http://www.clair.nippon-net.ne.jp/HTML_E/SIEN/JIGYO/40.HTM

Friends of the Earth Japan: http://www.foejapan.org/

Top Contents


Unit 20: Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers

JICA (‘Ϋ‹¦—ΝŽ–‹Ζ’c)
English: http://www.jica.go.jp/english/index.html
Japanese: http://www.jica.go.jp/Index-j.html

JOVC (Β”NŠCŠO‹¦—Ν‘ΰ)
English: http://www.jica.go.jp/english/activities/schemes/07jap.html
Japanese: http://www.jica.go.jp/activities/jocv/index.html

USA Peace Corps: http://www.peacecorps.gov/

Top Contents


Copyright: N R Stott (2003)